Lauren Walker, Postdoc, Featured in SOT Science Communication Webinar

On September 22, 2020, the Society of Toxicology’s Postdoctoral Association hosted a webinar as part of their Career Development Webinar Series entitled, “Communicating Science in the Misinformation Age: Strategies for Early Career Scientists.” Lauren Walker, PhD, Alison Bernstein, PhD (Michigan State University), and Andrea Hindman, PhD (AAAS Fellow, Department of Defense) shared their diverse experiences […]

BMS Graduate Research Fellowship Awarded to Melissa Wilkinson

  The Graduate Research Fellowship in Toxicology from Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. supports students involved in pre-clinical, in vivo toxicology research. Fourth year Ph.D. candidate Melissa Wilkinson was chosen to be the 2020-2021 recipient of this competitive fellowship. Melissa with perform research under the guidance and mentorship of Dr. Andrew Gow to investigate the use of […]

JGPT Trainees Run SURF Fellowship Program Online

With laboratories closed for research, JGPT students and postdocs moved their instruction in the Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF) Program online for 6 weeks. Postdocs Cody Smith and Lauren Walker and PhD students Zakiyah Henry, Maxine Abustan, Alyssa Bellomo, and Jackie Andres hosted a variety of lectures and activities ranging from lead testing in drinking […]

Starting the New Academic Year During a Pandemic

We welcomed 8 new PhD students into the toxicology graduate program. Our orientation took a new approach this year with social distancing and masks. Nonetheless, we were excited to see everyone in person. Our new RATS President Melissa Wilkinson gave an overview of the fun activities planned for this year. A pandemic will not prevent […]

Melissa Wilkinson Selected for 2020-2021 Eagleton Graduate Fellows Class

Melissa Wilkinson, a fourth year JGPT student in the Gow laboratory, was selected as a 2020-2021 Eagleton Graduate Fellow through the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers University. This is an interdisciplinary program open to graduate students in all Rutgers schools and disciplines who would like to further an interest in American politics and government. […]

Shatkin Award to Dan Rizzolo, Toxicology PhD Student

Daniel Rizzolo, PhD student in Toxicology, has been selected as recipient of the 2020-21 Shatkin scholarship. The scholarship is named after Aaron Shatkin, who was the founding director of the Center for Advanced Biotechnology and Medicine (CABM). Congratulations Dan!

Scala Scholar Recipients for 2020

  Dr. Jaclyn Skye Kelty and Dr. Cassandra Meakin joined the JGPT as postdoctoral fellows in 2020. Mr. Jeremy Lessing began his Ph.D. studies as part of the M.D./Ph.D. program. Dr. Kelty is co-mentored by Drs. Andrew Gow and Debra Laskin. Dr. Meakin is working with Drs. Lauren Aleksunes and Emily Barrett. Mr. Lessing is […]

JGPT Family Supporting First Responders

We are grateful for the generous donation from Janis Grover and Vicenzi USA Inc for their donation of cookies for first responders at Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital. Our Toxicology students and postdocs were excited to participate in the celebration of this generous philanthropy.